Posted by: GPK | 26.August.2009

Overwhelmed? Try this 5 step strategy…


It’ll be a short one today.  I’m wrestling with some personal stuff today (which is why this is going up so late) and wondering out loud “it’s tough to juggle so much at once”.  Now generally that’s the way I like it.  The more plates that are spinning the happier I am.  Today, however, it feels a little overwhelming.  So, how can I turn this into something that will help you?  I’m going to just share an approach I’m going to employ and ask you to share your experience with this type of feeling.

First, I have to be honest with myself and recognize that there is a problem.  If I’m stressing or behaving oddly (more oddly than usual), then that’s usually a good sign that something’s out of whack.

Second, I have to identify the specific ways the problem is manifesting itself (relationships, work slipping, etc.).  Often – as we all know – the “stuff” that appears to be going wrong, is really just symptomatic of something in a seemingly different area.  Big help that is!  😉

Third I MUST embrace a moment to re-center myself.  For me, meditation, laughter, exercise, etc. are healthy ways to do this.  Sometimes a short walk can make a big difference.  Any mechanic will tell you that the longer a wheel stays out of alignment, the worse the misalignment gets!

Fourth, regroup and create a plan.  Outline the areas that need the most urgent attention and create a plan to address them.

Fifth. Execute the plan.  Create a short list of 5 or 6 things that fit in the “urgent and important” category and get cracking!

I’ll let you know how it goes.  Please, you do the same…

Peace and Gratitude,

GPK

Responses

  1. Short and to the point…perfect when you are in overwhelm. This is an excellent strategy to use and I especially like the way each step builds upon the previous one. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

