Posted by: GPK | 31.August.2009

Do you need more sleep?


Monday, August 31, 2009

I’m crunched for time this morning but it brings a recurring theme for me into specific relief today.  I need to get more rest on a consistent basis.  Can you relate to this? I am running late this morning because I stayed up to late fussing about something else.  The best use of my time last night would have been to go straight to sleep.  I remember when I recovered from chemotherapy; I told myself I wouldn’t let myself get run down again.  Sleep plays such a key part in avoiding that deep battery discharge that can occur.  So, I thought I’d take this opportunity to challenge you all…

”Are you getting enough sleep?”  If not, ask yourself why?

Take a look at the times you’ve gone to sleep this week and what times you’ve woken up.  I know that we can train ourselves to a certain extent but we all have some pretty basic needs to rest.  Be sure to schedule that in and adhere to it.  Scientists say that we don’t really catch up on sleep that we’ve missed.  At the same time, it sure does feel good to get a really solid night’s sleep.  See if you can do that TONIGHT!  Let me know how it goes!

Peace and Gratitude,

GPK

Responses

  1. Ahh, this is my biggest challenge. Sleep has eluded me since I was a toddler. Now my excuse is, “I just need to finish one more thing before I go to bed.” Thankfully, I get by with just a few hours. But how would I be with a full 7-8 hours? I meditate every morning at 4:30 and journal every night before bed. It helps. Maybe tonight I’ll turn in earlier!


Leave a Reply

Categories

