Posted by: GPK | 14.September.2009

Doing the right thing is more important than doing the thing right.


When we have a choice between two actions we’re often confronted with having to decide between a difficult path and one that appears to be easier.  I’ve noticed that often the path that appears to be more difficult in the short term turns out to be the better choice.  I’ve noticed that those types of decisions lead to growth, power and the development of real character.

Ultimately, that’s what I want for myself.  I want to continuously expand my character.  I strive to be able to make decisions that make me a smarter, more disciplined, more resourceful person.  It’s a difficult thing to do a lot of the time.  There’s usually a path that is appealing and, well, “easy”.  The path that appears easier, however, often ends up being riddled with pitfalls.  You don’t see the pitfalls when you look down the path at the beginning.  You see the low hanging fruit on the vines, you see the lovely short-term benefits but the pitfalls are hidden from you.

That’s where experience carries the day.  At 45, I’ve gone down the “easy” path enough times to know.  While I can look at those choices now as “mistakes”, regretting all of them would be a waste of time and energy. It would also be a wasteful use of the pain I’ve endured as a result of those decisions.  That pain is the real teacher!  They say “repetition is the mother of education” and I know that we learn what we learn until we learn it.  Once learned, however, going down the same path and expecting a different outcome…well that’s just inviting disaster.  I’ve read “the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again expecting a different result.”

I’m sure I’ll be confronted with many “easy” paths as I continue my journey.  My hope is that at each junction, I will remember a time when I had a similar choice.  My hope is that I’ll remember the outcomes and the feelings that they evoked.  My hope is that I’ll be able to see which path will make me stronger and which will weaken me.  My hope is that I’ll have the strength of character to step onto the right path.

Time, as always, will tell.

What choices have you made that appeared to be the “easy” path and turned out to cause more trouble than good for you?  What would you do – not if you could do it over again (because it just doesn’t work that way) – but if you were confronted with the same choice now?  Why?

Engage.  Think.  Share!

Peace and gratitude,

GPK

Leave a Reply

Categories

