Posted by: GPK | 15.October.2009

The Brightside


Looking for the positive characteristics of a given situation may or may not be more difficult to do than finding the negatives but it enhances the quality of your life.

Oftentimes our immediate reaction is to find and point out the negatives in a situation.  The trick to enjoying life is to move from those negative thoughts onto the positive observations as quickly as possible.  The more you entertain the negative aspects of a situation, the longer you’ll be mired in negative energy and continue to attract more negative energy.

The quicker you can move on to discovering, thinking and talking about the positive aspects, the more of that positive energy you’ll attract.  It’s not a new idea that thinking positively is better for your health, your relationships, your work, pretty much everything.  There’s sort of a new word for it these days though.  It’s called brightsiding.  It’s just as much a great idea as it always has been.

I recall a time when I was undergoing chemotherapy, and I was buckled over with nausea.  I recall bursting into laughter at about 3 o’clock in the morning at the moment I realized that I could find nothing positive about this experience.  I said to myself, “Find the positive in THIS situation, Mr. Motivator!”  When I “heard” myself say this, I just cracked up.  I couldn’t contain how funny I thought it was that in that moment, the fact that I couldn’t possibly find anything positive about it was just funny to me.  After I laughed I cried tears of joy at the realization that my response was indeed one of finding the positive.  You see for that 30 seconds or so that I was laughing, I wasn’t thinking about vomiting.  Funny how that works, eh?

Do I think that my ability to focus on the positive aspect of things led to me recovery?  Maybe.  Do I KNOW that my ability to do so improved the quality of my experience?  Absolutely!

When’s the last time you went an entire day focusing on ONLY the positive aspects of things?

The key to remember is that while we MAY NOT be able to influence the outcome in every single situation, by choosing to FOCUS on the positive aspects of things (what we’ll learn, how we’ll grow, what good may come) we INFLUENCE the quality of our experience.

See what it’s like to shift gears from the negative observations to the positive focus at every opportunity today.  See what that’s like for you.  If it’s uncomfortable, it means you’re growing.  If it hurts, it means something’s wrong.  If it feels good, keep doing it.

Hmmmmmm

Engage, think, share!

Peace and gratitude,

GPK

Leave a Reply

Categories

