Posted by: GPK | 4.June.2010

Team iCanSir! Coach, Lisa Millis, said it better than I ever could!


(unedited letter from Lisa Millis – Team iCanSir! Coach – published with permission)

Team icansir,

I am still on a natural high from our race on Sunday and wanted to send along a note of thanks to you for allowing me the opportunity to be a part of something I believe whole heartedly in . . .HOPE!
Through each of your journey’s through cancer you have taught me to look differently at survivors. You may have some battle scars, but they have not hindered your strength, positive energy, or spirit for living because you shared it all with me this past weekend.  I have had the honor of working with both hospice and C.R. Wood Cancer Center for several years and have met tons of patients and their families, but you all are different.  I will always remember our time together as my most special time with an amazing group of ATHLETES not just survivors!  Even with our ringer substitute the “Cheetah”, I can honestly say it was the best 26.2 miles I will have ever run in my lifetime!
COACH’S RACE RECAP
Leg #1  Super Girl learned about the kindness of the Burlington spectators and how fast 3 miles can actually go by when we iron out the little wrinkles that try to slow us down! “This is it”?  This is the end already”?  Great job Beverly!  It will only get easier the more your feet hit the pavement!
Leg #2 Nana(Sharon) Dug deep for the out & back 6 mile loop, past a hot air balloon, high fived an Eagle, enjoyed the mountain view, used the Port a Potty on the run, and even learned how to talk, run and listen to music all while going up hill!  AMAZING and a true inspiration to me for continuing to move & laugh in life!
Leg#3 I met our ringer whom I named the Cheetah in the first 2 minutes when he took off before my watch was even programed.  After forgiving him for being an ENGINEER, I learned that the Cheetah is a very strong athlete with a lean mean pace, has a great sense of humor, is passionate about his kids and was able to harness his love for Rosalie to run an extra 11 miles in record time (never having trained for it)! I wish he had been with me the entire race because he pulled me up several hills with his humor & attitude!  My only problem with him?  He doesn’t like coffee.  What’s that all about?
Leg #4 & 5  After sleeping on a park bench for 3 hours, GPK was like Five Star Dave on Travers Day at Saratoga…unstoppable! There was no way I was going to hold back a Cheetah & a Race Horse so I went with it.  George kept us laughing, got us singing, and even threatened a cop before meeting people along the way that he had inspired, mile 22 he made a connection with a runner who used his energy to finish the race. This was all in addition to keeping the pace constantly moving right through to the finish line!! Talk about no boundaries, I’m in awe!
GEORGE, YOU ARE THE REASON THIS IDEA CAME TO FRUITION.  YOU HAND PICKED EACH OF US AND BROUGHT US TOGETHER TO RAISE AWARENESS, COLLECT MUCH NEEDED FUNDS AND TO RALLY FOR HOPE THROUGH RUNNING!  YOU DID IT AND YOU HELPED US DO IT TOO! THANK YOU!
Opportunities to be a part of something larger than ourselves help us become better people at our core.
A priceless life lesson I will work to embrace!
A note to our spectators:  All the training aside, running a race like this is not the same without the warm feeling of knowing there are people there who care if you finish, how you finish, if you’re tired, if you forgot your Garmin charger, waiting to snap a picture or two, and thoughtfully negotiating through crowds for 6 hours (in all kinds of weather) to celebrate the finish with a local microbrew . . . . all because they care.  Anna, Mary, Laurie, & Rosalie(substitute spectator) we could not have done this without you and we are honored you cared enough to make the trip for us!         No Boundaries!
Peace, Love & Hope,
Lisa
Leave a Reply

Categories

